My name is April and I've owned chickens in some form or another since I was 17 years old.

in Agriculture from Cal Poly Pomona where I studied topics like farm animal reproduction, genetics, nutrition and more. Baby ducks will play in their water dish which will result in wet bedding. ... As long as the temperature isn’t dipping below 50 at night, they’ll be fine. To provide a constant heat source, be sure to keep the lamp on 24 hours a day.Feed your baby ducklings the proper food to ensure good health. most people tend to choose between white light lamps and red light infrared When deciding to choose a light source for baby chickens, These types of feed resemble a fine, dry powder and contain the essential nutrients your ducklings will need. Choose absorbent bedding for the floor of your brooding area, such as hay. If you only have one or two baby ducks the brooding area could even be a large cardboard box.

Why is a heat light so important to baby chickens at night?

On average, a four-bulb, 250 watt lamp can warm up to 150 ducklings whereas a one-bulb, 250 watt heat lamp can warm up to 30 ducklings. The best way to do this is to hold a thermometer directly under the light at the level of the duckling's heads.

Baby chicks kept with their mother do not need light at night, and get warmth from their mother. Some people may not realise that ducks are as easy to keep as chickens but to ensure this special breed of poultry is kept happy in the backyard there are a few measures which need to be taken (and … On average, a four-bulb, 250 watt lamp can warm up to 150 ducklings whereas a one-bulb, 250 watt heat lamp can warm up to 30 ducklings.